In Kansas, drivers must obey the same laws pertaining to the choice to drive while intoxicated. This offense places other people at risk and could present them with further criminal infractions if an accident occurs. The following are details about the penalties for these offenses that DUI Defense Lawyers can explain.
What Blood-Alcohol Content Readings Indicate a DUI?
Any driver that is at least 21-years of age is potentially guilty with a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.08%. Drivers who are operating commercial vehicles at the time of the charge are possibly guilty with a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.04%. Any driver who is under the age of 21-years of age may be guilty if they have a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.02%.
How Does Implied Consent Work?
The state has the right to initiate the implied consent ruling if they suspect a driver of a DUI. This ruling gives the officers automatic authority to test the driver for this offense. If the driver refuses, they could accumulate additional penalties if they are convicted. If they are convicted and refused to test, they receive an additional one-year driver’s license suspension. They must install an ignition interlocking device into their vehicle for two years at their own expenses. They have to pay an additional $600 to reinstate their driver’s license after the suspension period.
What Administrative Penalties Apply?
The state can impose administrative penalties starting with a 30-day driver’s license suspension. The driver must install an ignition interlocking device for up to one year. The administrative fee for reinstating the driver’s license is $200.
What Criminal Penalties Apply?
After a DUI conviction, the driver incurs a fine between $750 and $1,000. They will face at least 48-hours in the county jail. They must complete at least 100 hours of community service. They also incur a driver’s license suspension based on their blood-alcohol content reading. They have to complete an alcohol content reading.
In Kansas, drivers who fail to obey drunk driving laws face criminal penalties for these actions. The state has a zero tolerance law for these drivers and will impose hefty penalties if a conviction occurs. Drivers who are facing these charges contact DUI Defense Lawyers by visiting Addairthurston.com today.Add to favorites