Getting Your Texas License To Carry A Handgun

In Texas, you have a right to carry a handgun, but this is not a completely unregulated right. First, you need to meet certain requirements in order to apply for a license to carry.

  • You must be 21 years of age
  • You must be a legal resident of the state of Texas for at least 6 months preceding your application
  • You may not have been convicted of a felony or a Class A or B misdemeanor, nor may you be a fugitive from justice.
  • You must not be chemically dependent. This definition includes alcoholism and addiction to illegal or prescribed drugs.
  • You must be current on your child support and not the subject of a restraining order.
  • You must be of sound mind and capable of exercising judgment in the storage of and use of firearms.
  • You must not be delinquent in taxes owed to the state comptroller.
  • You must not have a psychiatric history that includes involuntary hospitalization, hospitalization for inpatient treatment for drugs or alcohol problems. Nor may you have been diagnosed with any condition that can impede your judgment, intellectual ability, or alter your mood or perceptions or alter your impulse control.

In other words, you must be an adult in good standing, sober and of sound mind. The full document of requirements is accessible here, and other conditions also apply.

LTC Class Structure

In order to receive a license to carry, you must successfully complete a license to carry class. This is a simple one day class with two parts. The first part is classroom instruction with a test at the end of it. After that, the class will adjourn to arrange for live fire. The class will cover basic firearm safety, dispute resolution, concealed carry and open carry laws, as well as restrictions and punishments for any violations of the firearms code. Get the best class in Houston at Invicta Tactics designed to make you an informed and trained firearms owner.

Be the first to like.

Follow Us:
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites