Types of Laser Eye Surgery

Types of Laser Eye Surgery

In the past, most corrective vision procedures were involved and quite risky. However, thanks to modern laser eye surgery, risks are minimal and the benefits are many. Instead of making incisions with scalpels, lasers are used. In fact, a laser eye procedure may be one of four types, Lasik, Lasek, EpiLasik and PRK. Each one has a specific purpose.


Lasik stands for laser in situ keratomileusis. It is commonly used to reshape the cornea. This can correct farsighted, nearsighted and astigmatic conditions. With this procedure, the surgeon creates a flap by making an incision into the cornea. This is done with a laser machine. The incision procedure is very precise which helps to eliminate many types of complications.


Laser assisted epithelial keratomileusis is sometimes used for patients with thinner than normal corneas. It can serve the same purpose as Lasik. By using a specialized laser, a thinner flap can be created and this is used for vision correction.


Next to Lasik, photorefractive keratectomy (PRK) is the most common type of laser eye surgery used today. Like Lasik and Lasek, this procedure can restore normal sight to those who have astigmatism and both near and farsightedness. In fact, before Lasik became commonplace, PRK was the preferred method of non-blade eye procedures.

Lasik surgery starts by making a flap in the cornea but PRK begins with removing a very thin outer layer of your cornea. This is known as the epithelium. Next, the reshaping process takes place and the epithelium eventually heals and repairs itself.

Epithelial Lasik (EpiLasek)

In this laser eye surgery, a flap is created in the epithelium. In fact, it is basically a hybrid combination of Lasik and Lasek methods. Your eye specialist can help you choose the right procedure for your needs and is there to answer your questions and concerns.

Be the first to like.

Follow Us:
FavoriteLoadingAdd to favorites